The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) maintains almost universal acceptance in various industries because of their highly safe and up-to-date safety standards for construction of boilers and pressure vessels. ASME Code Section VIII highlights construction code for design, manufacturing, inspection, and testing of pressure vessels and covers. It also outlines mandatory requirements, special prohibitions, and non-mandatory guidance for materials, certification, and pressure relief.

What Is ASME Section VIII?

Click to Enlarge

ASME Section VIII Compliance: What You Need to Know

ASME Section VIII is dedicated to giving detailed requirements for the design, fabrication, inspection, certification, and testing of both unfired and fired pressure vessels, especially those that operate at pressures exceeding 15 psi.

What Are the Requirements in ASME Section VIII?

In Section VIII of the ASME code, there are three divisions that cover different vessel specifications, including:

  • Division One. This section provides mandatory and non-mandatory appendices detailing criteria for design, non-destructive techniques for examination, and acceptance standards for inspecting pressure vessels. It also details rules for use of single ASME certification marks with U, UV, and UM designators.
  • Division Two. This section allows for higher stress intensity values but with a more rigorous set of standards than Division One. Division Two contains rules for design, materials, and nondestructive examination techniques for pressure vessels. These rules can be applied for human occupancy pressure vessels, primarily for the diving industry. Division Two also details rules for use of single ASME certification marks with UV and U2 designators.
  • Division Three. This section provides a set of rules for internal or external operating pressures exceeding 10,000 psi. There are no minimum or maximum pressure limits set in Division Three, and it details rules for use of single ASME certification marks with UV3 and U3 designators.

What Are the Advantages of Section VIII Compliance?

ASME Section VIII benefits users, manufacturers, constructors, designers, and others by providing highly detailed requirements for fired or unfired pressure vessel design, fabrication, assembly, erection, inspection, testing, and certification. These requirements can be applied to various materials and fabrication processes, including welding, brazing, and forging. Using Section VIII codes ensures compliance with local regulations while achieving cost, safety, and operational benefits gained by following industry best practices.

How American Alloy Fabricators Complies with ASME Section VIII

Pressure Vessel ASME Section 8At American Alloy Fabricators, we provide the highest quality pressure vessel products. Our expert team offers custom design and fabrication of pressure vessels that meet customer specifications and comply with Division One of ASME Section VIII.

American Alloy Fabricators for Your Pressure Vessel Needs

American Alloy Fabricators has provided superior pressure vessels since 1989. We have worked with some of the largest companies in the world and take pride in our strong customer relationships. If you have any questions about our ASME Section VIII compliant products, contact us today.

Comments are closed